white church

Religion and how it relates to LGBTQ+ people is a difficult topic to untangle. Some religions are more accepting than others. Some denominations are more accepting than others. To find an accepting place of worship takes time and some trial and error. Check out their website before you visit. Look to see if they stream their services live so that you can experience worship virtually before attending in person. Hopefully, you can discover whether they are affirming before you attend. Whether or not you are welcomed into a place of worship depends largely on the faith leader and their efforts to be inclusive. So even denominations or religions that don’t have an official position of acceptance, might be accepting based on the practices of your local church. The denominations, places of worship, and religions listed below have declared their support for LGBTQ+ individuals.

Affirming denominations/places of worship/religions:


LGBTQ Humanism Alliance

Unitarian Universalist Association


Buddhism– acceptance depends on the individual temple or monastery.

Soka Gakkai International- USA

a brown wooden cross


Alliance of Baptists

Episcopal Church

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA)

Metropolitan Community Church

Presbyterian Church (USA)

Friends General Conference (FGC)

Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in Britain

The Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

United Church of Christ (UCC)

Hinduism– acceptance depends on individual ashrams and temples.

Hindu American Foundation

white and brown star on brown tree branch


Conservative Judaism

Humanistic Judaism

Reconstructionist Judaism

Reform Judaism

Islam– acceptance depends on individual mosques.

Muslims for Progressive Values

Can’t find what you’re looking for…

If you don’t see a place of worship listed above, search the Human Rights Campaign’s resources on Religion & Faith. You can find detailed articles about the stances of different religions and different denominations on sexual orientation, gender identity, marriage equality, non-discrimination, and ordination.